BRICS Countries

1 min read

The BRICS Countries list contain just five (5) member state and it is an acronym for Brazil, Russia, India, China, and South Africa.

Origins of BRICS can be traced to the 2001 claim by Goldman Sachs¬†economist, Jim O’Neill that in 2050, four economies would dominate the world. Originally, he mentioned just four countries which were:

  • Brazil
  • Russia
  • India
  • and China.

At this time the acronym was BRIC but in 2010, South Africa was later added to the list making it BRICS.

BRICS Countries Collaboration and Interests

Due to the fact that for years, the BRICS countries were some of the fastest-growing economies in the world, it was predicted that they would form a very powerful and formidable economic bloc. This economic bloc was later seen to become a political bloc.

BRICS Countries

Oftentimes, they all acted in each other’s interests and even the leaders of these countries attended summits together. The leaders of BRICS are the Presidents of each country that is a member with President Cyril Ramaphosa leading South Africa.

BRICS Countries List

The list of BRICS member nations includes:

  • Brazil (South America)
  • Russia (Eurasia)
  • India (Asia)
  • China (Asia)
  • South Africa (Africa)


Lethabo Ndlovu

Lethabo Ndlovu is a KwaZulu-Natal-born writer. He is the Editor-in-Chief at Nerdville. Ndlovu is happily married to Sarah Ndlovu with children and they both live in Johannesburg South Africa. His interests include football, writing, and trying to make himself better by reading.

Latest from Blog